Annual Bruce I. Hochman Award


The distinguished personal and professional achievements of Bruce Hochman have been permanently honored through the Annual Bruce I. Hochman Award. Bruce Hochman, a leading attorney for over 40 years specializing in civil and criminal tax law litigation, was also a generous philanthropist and dynamic leader of various civic organizations.

The Award was established to be presented each year at the Tax Controversy Institute to an individual who demonstrates outstanding proficiency in the field of tax law and best exemplifies the principles that personified Mr. Hochman. Selected each year by the Planning Committee for the UCLA Extension’s Annual Tax Controversy Institute, the Award is presented during the Annual Bruce I. Hochman Award Luncheon.

2019 Award Recipient

Bryan C. Skarlatos, Kostelanetz & Fink, LLP, New York, NY

The 2019 award will be presented by Nathan J. Hochman, Morgan, Lewis & Bockius, LLP and Steven Toscher, Hochman, Salkin, Toscher & Perez, PC, Beverly Hills, CA


Past Recipients of the Bruce I. Hochman Award


2018 Avram Salkin, Hochman, Salkin, Toscher & Perez, PC, Beverly Hills, CA
2017 Miles D. Friedman, (former) Associate Area Counsel, Internal Revenue Service, Laguna Niguel
2016 Frank Agostino, Agostino & Associates, Hackensack, NJ
2015 Karen L. Hawkins, Former Director, IRS Office of Professional Responsibility, Washington, D.C.
2014 Steve Sims, Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate, Franchise Tax Board, Rancho Cordova, CA
2013 Elliott Kajan (deceased), Kajan Mather & Barish
2012 Ted Meyer, Examination Territory Manager Los Angeles, Area 7, Small Business/ Self- Employed Division Internal Revenue Service
2011  Jerry Feffer, formerly of Williams & Connolly, LLP, Washington, DC
2010 William Taggart, Law Offices of William E. Taggart Jr., Professional Corporation, Oakland, CA
2009 Martin A. Schainbaum, Law offices of Martin A. Schainbaum, San Francisco, CA
2008 Sidney Machtinger, Greenberg Glusker, Los Angeles, CA
2007 Mary Ann Cohen, Judge, United States Tax Court, Washington D.C.
2006 Cono Namorato, Caplin & Drysdale Chartered, Washington D.C., formerly Deputy Assistant Attorney General, U.S. Department of Justice
2005 Stephen J. Swift, Judge, United States Tax Court, Washington, D.C.
2004 Irene Scott Carroll, Special Litigation Assistant, IRS Counsel, Small Business/ Self Employed Division, Area8, Los Angeles, CA
2003 B. John Williams, Jr., Skadden, Washington, D.C.- former Judge, United States Tax Court and Former Chief Counsel, Internal Revenue Service
2002 Gene Silverman (deceased), formerly with DeCastro, West, Chodorow, Mendler, Glickfeld & Nass, founder of the UCLA Extension Annual Tax Controversy Institute in 1984.




Print Friendly, PDF & Email